My nightmare with a pickpocket – the incident I cannot forget.

Incident #1:

It was around 9 in the morning and as usual I got ready to take a public transport system which was a bus in my city to reach my destination, the court.  I was in the middle of a legal issue, so I was supposed to go to the court by 10.30 in the morning.  Keeping a very reasonable time to reach the court with all the heavy traffic, I reached the bus stop at 8.45 a.m. and an almost empty bus came to the bus stop after 15 minutes.  I was delighted to get into such an empty bus and I stood in the near empty bus as no seats were vacant.  This bus was not going to my destination, but was only going to a junction and there was a guarantee that I would get plenty of buses at this junction.  I got a call on my cell phone while travelling in this bus and I answered the call and then kept my phone in the bag which was quite big.  I thought I was careful to a great extent and the last stop which was the 4th stop from my origin stop came and I got down from the bus.  I checked my bag to pick money before getting into another bus and to my surprise the zip was open from the reverse side and at this juncture also it did not strike me that my purse was picked and I opened the whole bag to find my wallet missing.  Then I realized that my purse was picked, that too after I answered the phone call in the bus as I had taken money from my wallet to pay the conductor and fortunately the thief could not pick my expensive cell phone, but could only pick my wallet, which contained some cash and credit and debit cards.  The surprising thing here is that the thief is such an expert that I did not even know when he/she opened the zip of my bag from behind in that empty bus.  The second thing is most of the passengers in the bus must be pick pockets including the conductor, else they/he should have prevented my wallet from being picked.  At this point, I knew that I would not get any of them back, so I went to the police station, lodged a complaint, took an acknowledgement and went back home by walk as I had no money to get back and then called up the respective banks and got all my cards blocked.  This incident happened about 9 years back, even today, that bus number sends shivers through my spine.  I don’t dare get into any of the buses that originate from that place as in my mind I have a strong feeling that these buses are full of pick pockets.

Incident #2:

My partner’s friend had gone to Delhi on official duty.  He had the brand new one plus (1+) cell phone.  This happened in those days when customers were asked to buy One-plus cell phone through invitation.  He was walking in one of the busy market places in Delhi and all of a sudden a group of young fellows just surrounded him.  He does not know even today whether he was hypnotized or what, but he lost his cell phone which was kept in his shirt’s pocket in the front.  He realized it only when he got into an auto-rickshaw.  He also knew that he would not get it back as it was time for him to reach the railway station to come back to his home town, so he went to the police station and lodged a complaint and took an acknowledgement from them and got the sim card blocked as he was using that number for office purpose also and all the important information was stored in his sim.  After coming back, he bought another phone.

Incident #3:

My electrical engineer, he had gone with a group of 40 friends on a pilgrimage and while coming back home, reached Delhi.  He again, had gone to the market place along with some of his friends and while walking in the market, it seems someone dashed against him and one lady just diverted his attention by asking him some irrelevant thing.  This gentleman was a very very careful person who always kept his things very carefully and double checked on things.  When this incident happened, he was wearing a Kurti (a long full-sleeved shirt which reaches up to the knees) and had kept his One-plus cell phone in the side pocket of his Kurti.  But the pick-pockets were smart, within no time they picked his cellphone and vanished in no time.  This gentleman realized immediately that his phone was picked and in no time reached out to his friends who were with him and tried calling his number.  But the thieves were very smart, they had removed his sim card within no time and he was getting not reachable message.  He immediately called his daughter in his home town and asked her to inform the banks where he was maintaining his accounts to block the number and after coming back, bought another One plus and a new sim.

Leave a comment